Thursday, October 07, 2010

Mario Vargas Llosa Wins the Nobel Prize

Mario Vargas Llosa of Peru has won the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Mr. Vargas Llosa, 74, is one of the most celebrated writers of the Spanish-speaking world, frequently mentioned with his contemporary Gabríel Garcia Márquez, who won the literature Nobel in 1982, the last South American to do so. He has written more than 30 novels, plays and essays, including “The Feast of the Goat” and “The War of the End of the World.”

Every year, the Nobel selection makes me feel stupid. I have read only one of Mr. Vargas Llosa's books, Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter (1982?), and that was so long ago I can barely remember the plot. I will have to order several of his books and get to work.


In the "More Bad News" department, Marcia's father fell at some point last Thursday or Friday (we're not really sure when) and broke his hip. He was operated on on Saturday, and is not doing well--he is mentally no-longer-in-the-world. We went to see him last night and Marcia was the only one who could go in the room. I waited in the hallway with the boys. Had we known how he was, we would not have brought them.

Marcia and I are okay, but Carlos and Liam are having a difficult time with all of our recent deaths and medical problems, so please keep them in your thoughts and prayers.

There is more going on than I have shared, but some of this may explain why I have been such a bad blogger--and not much of a friend--in recent weeks.

I would not want to repeat the past six months.


Blogger Diane K. Martin said...

Greg, sorry to hear about your recent troubles. It does often seem like sorrows come in a bunch. The boys will be all right; they have you to lean on.

2:20 PM  
Blogger Carlos Rappleye said...

Dad, what the heck is the ' Nobel Prize? '

9:16 PM  
Blogger Joseph said...

He is one of Latin America's most significant novelists and essayists, and one of the leading authors of his generation.

Kitchen Benchtops

10:00 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home